top of page

First Draft

I see I've been remiss in keeping up with my blog. No excuses. Life happens. As it turns out back at the end of January, The Binding was chosen for a professional beta reading. I sent it off, hoping for the best. While as fortunate as it was, the timing sucked as I was in the process of acquiring a cover image and making the final steps to publish. The beta reading put everything on hold while I chewed my nails to nothing and waited. The report came back yesterday, and much to my relief, no major rewrites are needed. (Whew! Dodged that bullet.) And that leads me to this bit....

A while ago, I was searching for an art book which I knew I had, but didn't know where it was in the many boxes still packed from my move across country 14 years ago. I found the book, but decided to continue going through the boxes, sorting and throwing things away. It needed (needs) to be done. So what does this have to do with writing?

I found one of the original drafts of The Binding, done way back in 1998. It was printed out on a dot matrix printer. LOL The original title? The Offering. The writing...is bad...papershredder bad, but it's the original, written when I had no idea what I was doing, only that there was a story to tell. From the look of the folder, there are more than one 'incarnation' in it. I look forward to reading them and cringing at my purple prose and every mistake a newbie can possibly make. It's hard to believe that it's almost ready for publication.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page